CZ
EN
DE
Historical circuit of Town
History of washing
Oskar Schindler
Domů




8


Catholic rectory

The valuable intact Baroque Roman Catholic rectory below the cemetery Church of St. Illya is one of the gems of local architecture.


The original rectory stood on the left bank of the Svitava River at the oldest settlement site of the town. While it is mentioned in the 13th century, the roots of the building are probably older yet. The local parish priests from the Premonstratensian Order lived not only at the Church of St. Illya, but also at the former monastery at the Marian church on the town square. More detailed identification of the rectory, located near Domain Mill and the pond, is possible later in the 16th century. The fishery was a privilege enjoyed by the Svitavy parish priests, and therefore the rectory stood on the edge of town near U Tří Dvorů Street. Under the auspices of Olomouc Bishop František, the Cardinal of Dietrichstein, and local Pastor Andreas Marschalka, large collections were taken beginning in 1626 for the construction of a new rectory. With contributions from the town itself and the mayor, the rectory was completed in 1636. The curate’s building on Hřbitovní Street dates to the reconstruction of the rear tract and courtyard in the 19th century. The reveal of the main entrance to the building and the Dietrichstein emblem above the portal are valuable architectural elements. The rectory had a well that was 30 metres deep. The building was repaired and given a new façade at the beginning of the 21st century.

Copyright © Městské muzeum a galerie ve Svitavách 2018